• Florida State, New Mexico State last to become bowl eligible

    By: NOAH TRISTER, AP Sports Writer


    Florida State for the 36th straight year - and New Mexico State for the first time in decades?

    Those two teams are now eligible to play in bowls after victories Saturday. Florida State beat Louisiana-Monroe, and New Mexico State topped South Alabama.

    There are 81 bowl eligible teams this year and 78 spots, so some teams will be left out. That shouldn't be a concern for Florida State (6-6), which lost coach Jimbo Fisher but is now set to extend its record streak of bowl appearances to 36 seasons. Nebraska had a 35-year streak that ended in the 2004 season.

    A bowl appearance by New Mexico State (6-6) would be its first since 1960, when it beat Utah State in the Sun Bowl. The Aggies could land in the Arizona Bowl.


    More AP college football: www.collegefootball.ap.org and https://twitter.com/AP_Top25 .


    Follow Noah Trister at www.Twitter.com/noahtrister

    Next Up: